Five families of curricula: Mauritian, French, IB, British and other approaches

Mauritius Guide
Schools in Mauritius:
the family guide
Every curriculum, the school year, enrolment and the cost of each school: the complete 2026-2027 guide.
Mauritian system, French schools, International Baccalaureate, British curriculum: what each curriculum leads to, the schools that teach it, the steps in the right order, the bill for the first year and the area to live in.
the neighbourhood second
Key points
The essentials at a glance for schooling your children in Mauritius.
Five accredited French schools and four IB schools recognised by the IBO
From 2,900 to 12,700 euros a year depending on the school, the level and your nationality
The child’s residence permit comes before any enrolment
01 The curricula
State, French or international school: the curricula in Mauritius
A family moving to the island chooses between the Mauritian system, the French curriculum, the International Baccalaureate, the British curriculum and a few other approaches.
IB, Cambridge or French: the comparison →The Mauritian system
- Taught in English at secondary level
- PSAC, NCE, then Cambridge SC and HSC
- School year starts in January
The French curriculum
- Five schools accredited by France
- From the baccalauréat to the BFI
- School year starts in late August
The International Baccalaureate
- PYP, MYP, Diploma and Career-related
- Four schools recognised by the IBO
- Taught in English
The British curriculum
- IGCSE, then A-Levels
- From primary to secondary
- Taught in English
Other approaches
- British and Australian framework
- Bilingual programmes
- American faith-based programme
The Mauritian national system
Mauritian schools follow the Nine-Year Continuous Basic Education reform: six years of primary school, from Grade 1 to Grade 6, ending with the Primary School Achievement Certificate (PSAC), then seven years of secondary school, from Grade 7 to Grade 13. The National Certificate of Education (NCE) assesses pupils in Grade 9, the Cambridge School Certificate closes Grade 11 and the Cambridge Higher School Certificate Grade 13. These exams are run in Mauritius by the Mauritius Examinations Syndicate.
At primary level, the core curriculum combines English, French, mathematics, science, history and geography, and an Asian language, Arabic or Kreol Morisien. At secondary level, all lessons are taught in English except language lessons, and French remains compulsory. The Ministry of Education points out that secondary education has been free since 1977 and compulsory up to the age of 16 since 2005; secondary schools (colleges) are state, grant-aided private or fee-paying private.
French schools in Mauritius: five accredited schools
Mauritius has three schools under agreement with the Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE) and two partner schools, which teach more than 5,000 pupils, most of them Mauritian, according to the French embassy. All of them are accredited : their teaching matches that of state schools in France. They share the same calendar, from late August to early July, and only the Lycée La Bourdonnais covers the whole of schooling, from nursery school to the final year of the baccalauréat.
IB and Cambridge international schools
Four Mauritian schools are listed in the IB World Schools directory : Clavis International Primary School, IB Primary Years Programme on two campuses, at Mount Ory (Moka) and in Beau Champ; Le Bocage International School, at Mount Ory, for 11 to 18-year-olds, with the Cambridge IGCSE in Forms 4 and 5; Northfields International School, in Labourdonnais (Mapou), which leads to the IB Diploma or to A-Levels after the IGCSE; Westcoast International Secondary School, in Cascavelle, in the West: IGCSE, then the Diploma Programme.
The British curriculum is also taught in schools that are not IB schools: Alexandra House School, an English primary school in Floréal and a member of the Council of British International Schools (COBIS), and Telfair International Academy, in Tamarin, from 3 months to 15 years. The Dukesbridge network, the largest group of private schools on the island according to its website, teaches a framework adapted from British and Australian standards; Morning Star School follows the American faith-based Accelerated Christian Education programme. To draw up a shortlist, see our method to compare international schools in Mauritius.
| Curriculum | School | Location | Levels | Programme and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mauritian | State schools and colleges, grant-aided private and fee-paying private | Whole island | Grade 1 to Grade 13 | PSAC, NCE, Cambridge School Certificate and Higher School Certificate |
| French | Lycée La Bourdonnais | Curepipe | Nursery school to final year | Accredited French curriculum, baccalauréat |
| French | École du Nord | Labourdonnais, Mapou | Nursery (petite section) to troisième, end of middle school | Accredited French curriculum, international section in middle school |
| French | École du Centre – Collège Pierre-Poivre | Helvetia, Saint-Pierre | Nursery (petite section) to troisième, end of middle school | Accredited French curriculum |
| French | Lycée des Mascareignes | Helvetia, Saint-Pierre | Seconde to terminale (upper secondary) | Baccalauréat, and the French international baccalauréat (BFI) in the international section |
| French | École Paul et Virginie | Tamarin | Nursery (petite section) to CM2, end of primary | Accredited French curriculum |
| Bilingual | Saint Exupéry International School | Grand Baie | Nursery and primary | The school’s own French-English bilingual programme, not accredited |
| IB | Clavis International Primary School | Moka and Beau Champ | Primary | Primary Years Programme (PYP) |
| IB | Le Bocage International School | Mount Ory, Moka | 11 to 18 years | Middle Years, Diploma and Career-related Programme; IGCSE in Forms 4 and 5 |
| IB and British | Northfields International School | Labourdonnais, Mapou | Pre-Nursery to Year 13 | PYP, IGCSE, then IB Diploma or A-Levels |
| IB and British | Westcoast International Secondary School | Cascavelle | Forms 1 to 7 | IGCSE, then IB Diploma |
| British | Alexandra House School | Floréal | 4 to 11 years | British curriculum, member of COBIS |
| British | Telfair International Academy | Tamarin | 3 months to 15 years | British curriculum, up to lower secondary |
| Other | Dukesbridge | Several campuses, including Trianon, Moka, Curepipe, Vacoas and the North | Depends on the campus | Framework adapted from British and Australian standards |
Cambridge almost everywhere
Pupils in the Mauritian system also sit Cambridge exams, the School Certificate in Grade 11 and the Higher School Certificate in Grade 13, run by the Mauritius Examinations Syndicate. British and international schools lead to them through the IGCSE and A-Levels.
Accredited or simply bilingual
Only five schools are accredited by France. A French-English bilingual school, however good, is not: the difference matters on the day you return to France.
Four IB schools, no more
The official IBO directory lists only four schools in Mauritius. A school that advertises “the IB” without being listed is not authorised to deliver its programmes: check before you commit.
02 Choosing
Which curriculum to choose for your child
It all depends on what comes next: a return to France, studies abroad or a long stay in Mauritius.
Which school for your child’s age →| Mauritian | Accredited French | IB | British | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Language | English at secondary level, French compulsory | French, with reinforced English | English | English |
| Final qualification | Cambridge Higher School Certificate | Baccalauréat, or BFI at the Lycée des Mascareignes | IB Diploma or Career-related | IGCSE, then A-Levels |
| Start of the school year | January | Late August | Late August at Northfields, January at Westcoast | Late August at Northfields; other schools: ask them |
| Annual cost | State secondary free; conditions for a foreign pupil not specified | From 2,900 to 5,100 euros; up to 7,500 in upper secondary | From 5,800 to 12,700 euros | From 5,800 to 12,700 euros at Northfields |
| Return to France | Entrance exam for collège or lycée | No exam | Entrance exam | Entrance exam |
You will return to France
The accredited French curriculum keeps continuity, and opens the AEFE grant to a French child. Up to CM2, the North, the West and the centre each have their own French school; for middle school, Mapou, Helvetia or Curepipe; for upper secondary, Helvetia or Curepipe.
You are aiming for a university abroad
The IB Diploma or A-Levels prepare for studies in English. For a foreign family, fees exceed 300,000 rupees a year from Year 1 at Northfields and from Form 1 at Westcoast.
You want both languages
French schools reinforce English, and the Lycée des Mascareignes prepares for the BFI in its international section. Conversely, the Mauritian system and British schools teach in English and keep French.
You are staying in Mauritius for a long time
The Mauritian system follows the January calendar and leads to the Higher School Certificate; admission of a child of non-Mauritian parents goes through the Ministry’s National Equivalence Committee.
03 The school year
2026-2027 school year: three different calendars
Plan your arrival date around the school you are aiming for: late August for French schools and Northfields, January for state schools and Westcoast.
| Schools | School year | Start | End of the year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mauritian state schools | 2026 | 12 January 2026 for entry classes, 13 January for the others | 30 October 2026, end of the third term |
| Accredited French schools | 2026-2027 | 28 August 2026 | 2 July 2027 |
| Northfields International School | 2026-2027 | 20 August 2026 (24 August for Year 12), welcome for new pupils on the 19th | 2 July 2027 |
| Westcoast International Secondary School | 2026 | 14 January 2026, welcome for new pupils on the 13th | 13 November 2026 in Forms 1 to 3, 20 November in Forms 4 and 6 |
Arriving in July or August
This is the right time for French schools and Northfields, which start the year in late August.
Arriving in December
This is the right time for the Mauritian system and Westcoast, which start it in January, according to the Ministry’s 2026 calendar.
Arriving during the year
The child joins a class during the year if a place is left: the École Paul et Virginie, for example, enrols all year round within the limit of its places.
04 Enrolment
Enrolling your child at school in Mauritius, in five steps
Permit, first contact, file, tests, payment: the order matters, because each school expects the previous document.
The child’s permit →- 1The permitThe child’s right of residence
- 2First contactPre-registration, visit
- 3The fileDocuments and school reports
- 4The testsPlacing the child
- 5PaymentThe place is confirmed
- 6The start of the yearUniform, transport, canteen
- Settle the child’s right of residence. The Lycée des Mascareignes and the École du Centre do not admit a child who entered Mauritius on a tourist visa, even temporarily; for non-Mauritian families, they require the child to be explicitly named on a parent’s residence permit. The Lycée La Bourdonnais asks for the parents’ Residence Permit or Occupation Permit.
- Allow for the time the permit takes. The École Paul et Virginie accepts a residence or work permit, the Premium Visa or the approval in principle of the Economic Development Board (EDB), to be provided before the start of the year, and warns that these procedures take at least one to three months depending on the case. The procedure is detailed in our article on the dependent permit in Mauritius.
- Get in touch early. For 2026-2027, the École du Nord announced waiting lists in the last year of nursery school, in CM2 and in the first year of middle school, and asks families to get in touch well before they arrive, even when their plans are not settled. A “long-term” reservation fee of 40,000 rupees, an advance on school fees that is lost if you withdraw, holds a place there in the first or second year of nursery school.
- Visit and pre-register. For secondary school at the Lycée La Bourdonnais, pre-registration is done online, one form per child. Northfields and Clavis offer campus visits by appointment before you apply.
- Put the file together. Birth certificate or family record book; latest school reports and school record book; certificate of removal from the previous school, called a Transfer Certificate or Leaving Certificate in the Mauritian system; parents’ passports; proof of address in Mauritius; permit or visa; in case of separation, the document setting out custody; up-to-date health record, requested by the Lycée La Bourdonnais.
- Solve the proof of address. The school asks for it, while the home is chosen according to the school. The sequence that avoids the deadlock: pre-registration first, then a lease in the school’s area, then the complete file. This is where we step in: we find the rental near the chosen school, and the signed lease serves as proof of address.
- Sit the entrance tests. École du Nord: paid placement tests for pupils who come neither from an AEFE school nor from the French national education system. École du Centre: skills test if the child does not come from an accredited school. École Paul et Virginie: French and mathematics from CE1 for a pupil coming from another system.
- Tests at English-speaking schools. Northfields: Cognitive Abilities Test (CAT4), taken at the candidate’s current school, then a committee decision. Westcoast: entrance tests after submitting the school reports for the last two years, a letter of recommendation, the birth certificate and the passport. Clavis: one hour of classroom observation for the youngest, a language and mathematics exam at primary level.
- Change system without repeating a year. For a pupil enrolled in Grade 7 or an equivalent level, the Lycée La Bourdonnais offers a bridging class: one semester from January, then entry into cinquième (second year of middle school) at the following start of the year. It costs 8,000 rupees a month in 2026-2027.
- Pay to confirm the place. The place is only secured once the file is accepted and the first fees are paid. At the Lycée des Mascareignes, enrolment of a family not yet living in Mauritius only becomes effective once the fees are paid and the residence permit obtained; Northfields allows two weeks after the letter of acceptance to pay the inception fee and the deposit. In most fee schedules, these entry fees are not refundable.
- The Mauritian system. The Ministry provides an admission form, with a section for children of non-Mauritian parents; the National Equivalence Committee rules on equivalences up to secondary level. The file includes the residence permits of the parents and of the child.
- Prepare for the start of the year. Transport, canteen and uniform are paid separately: see below what the schools say about them.
05 The cost
Cost of schooling in Mauritius in 2026-2027, in rupees and in euros
The amounts come from the fee schedules published by the schools for 2026-2027, or for 2026 at Westcoast. Schools charge in rupees: the amount in euros depends on the exchange rate on the day of payment.
| Type of school | Annual school fees | Entry fees |
|---|---|---|
| Mauritian state schools | Secondary free since 1977 according to the Ministry; conditions for a foreign pupil are not specified | Not specified |
| Accredited French schoolsLycée La Bourdonnais, École du Nord, École du Centre, École Paul et Virginie | From 156,000 in nursery school to 226,000 in upper secondary (Lycée La Bourdonnais); up to 262,450 in the international section of middle school for a family that is neither French nor Mauritian (École du Nord) | Free in the first and second years of nursery at the École du Nord, otherwise from 40,000 to 74,000 depending on the school and level, before discounts; 70,000 at the Lycée La Bourdonnais for a pupil who is neither French nor Mauritian |
| Lycée des Mascareignesseconde to terminale | From 234,410 for a French or Mauritian family in the standard track to 390,610 for other nationalities in the international section; 333,885 in Sport Études | 100,000 first-enrolment fee, except for pupils coming directly from the École du Centre or the École du Nord |
| Northfields International Schoolexpatriate rate | 174,900 in Pre-Nursery, 311,300 in Year 1, 605,000 in Years 7 to 11, 656,700 in Years 12 and 13 | From 17,900 to 72,400 depending on the level, plus a refundable deposit equal to three months of fees (78,600 in Year 1, 166,000 in Years 12 and 13) |
| Westcoast International Secondary Schoolnon-citizen rate 2026 | 318,000 in Forms 1 to 3, 334,800 in Forms 4 and 5 (IGCSE), 385,200 in Forms 6 and 7 (IB Diploma) | 3,700 for the application and entrance exam, 70,000 registration, deposit of 79,500 to 96,300 |
At the indicative rate published by the Bank of Mauritius on 26 October 2026, between 51.84 and 53.67 rupees to the euro, these annual fees amount to:
| School and level | Rupees per year | Euros per year, approximately |
|---|---|---|
| Lycée La Bourdonnais, nursery school | 156 000 | 2,900 to 3,000 |
| Lycée La Bourdonnais, upper secondary | 226 000 | 4,200 to 4,400 |
| École du Nord, international section in middle school, family neither French nor Mauritian | 262 450 | 4,900 to 5,100 |
| Lycée des Mascareignes, seconde to terminale | 234,410 to 390,610 | 4,400 to 7,500 |
| Northfields International School, Year 1, expatriate rate | 311 300 | 5,800 to 6,000 |
| Northfields International School, Years 7 to 11 | 605 000 | 11,300 to 11,700 |
| Northfields International School, Years 12 and 13 | 656 700 | 12,200 to 12,700 |
| Westcoast International Secondary School, Forms 1 to 3, non-citizen rate | 318 000 | 5,900 to 6,100 |
| Westcoast International Secondary School, IB Diploma (Forms 6 and 7) | 385 200 | 7,200 to 7,400 |
In the year of entry, first-enrolment fees come on top: about 1,300 to 1,400 euros at the Lycée La Bourdonnais for a pupil who is neither French nor Mauritian, 1,900 euros at the Lycée des Mascareignes, and at Northfields a refundable deposit of about 1,500 euros in Year 1 to 3,100 or 3,200 euros in Years 12 and 13.
Two fee schedules, level by level
| Level | Inception fee | Refundable deposit | Annual fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-Nursery | 17 900 | 29 400 | 174 900 |
| Nursery | 21 900 | 47 100 | 187 000 |
| Reception | 43 900 | 78 600 | 311 300 |
| Year 1 to Year 4 | 60 400 | 78 600 | 311 300 |
| Years 5 and 6 | 63 400 | 82 000 | 324 500 |
| Years 7 to 11 | 72 400 | 152 700 | 605 000 |
| Years 12 and 13 | 72 400 | 166 000 | 656 700 |
| Level | Mauritian and French families | Other nationalities |
|---|---|---|
| First year of nursery (petite section) | 162 250 | 200 800 |
| Second and third years of nursery | 191 175 | 224 600 |
| Primary (élémentaire) | 191 175 | 224 600 |
| Middle school (collège) | 213 850 | 224 600 |
| Middle school, international section | 251 650 | 262 450 |
The first year, all in
Two examples calculated from the fee schedules: a primary pupil at the École du Nord, in a family that is neither French nor Mauritian, and a Year 1 pupil at Northfields, at the expatriate rate.
| Item | Rupees |
|---|---|
| First-enrolment fee, primary | 60 500 |
| School fees, primary, family neither French nor Mauritian | 224 600 |
| Deposit fund, refundable | 6 200 |
| Annual insurance | 500 |
| Teaching materials | 3 500 |
| Total for the first year | 295 300 |
| That is, at the rate of 26 October 2026 | 5,500 to 5,700 euros |
| Item | Rupees |
|---|---|
| Application fee | 2 200 |
| Inception fee | 60 400 |
| School fees, Year 1, expatriate rate | 311 300 |
| Deposit, refundable | 78 600 |
| Resources & Materials | 6 900 |
| Levy | 2 200 |
| Total for the first year | 461 600 |
| That is, at the rate of 26 October 2026 | 8,600 to 8,900 euros |
What the deposit changes
The Northfields deposit (78,600 rupees in Year 1) and the École du Nord deposit fund (6,200 rupees) are refundable: they weigh on first-year cash flow, not on the final cost.
What is not included
Uniform, canteen, transport and activities come on top. At the École du Nord, nursery supplies are charged separately; at Northfields, textbooks and the camp in Years 7 to 11, Ed-Tech and external exam fees in Year 13.
Paying in advance at Northfields
The schedule grants a 4% discount for fees paid in advance before 15 July, and a reduced inception fee for a second child (54,900 rupees in Year 1).
What makes the bill vary
Nationality
The École du Nord charges 224,600 rupees for primary to a family that is neither French nor Mauritian, against 191,175 rupees. Northfields keeps a much lower Mauritian rate, 211,200 rupees in Year 1, for Mauritian pupils and notably for families in which one parent is Mauritian or has lived in Mauritius for more than six years.
Payment schedule
At the École du Centre, families coming from abroad pay by term, on 19 August, 4 December and 5 April; at the École Paul et Virginie, in three instalments when neither parent is Mauritian, against eleven monthly instalments otherwise.
The annual increase
The École du Nord warns that its fees are raised every year, by 5 to 10%, and those of the Lycée La Bourdonnais rose by 5 to 8% depending on the level between 2025-2026 and 2026-2027.
Siblings
A 10% reduction for three children at the Lycée La Bourdonnais, a 15% reduction for three children enrolled together at the École Paul et Virginie; at Northfields, 7.5% on the second child and 15% from the third.
Transport
The École du Nord provides no transport and refers families to private van companies, which allocate places on a first-come, first-served basis; at the École du Centre, school buses are run by the parents; at the Lycée des Mascareignes, the compulsory 2,600-rupee package includes the public transport card; at Westcoast, transport is charged separately.
The canteen
No fee schedule publishes meal prices. The Lycée La Bourdonnais announces its arrangements the week before the start of the year, and its pupils may bring their own lunch; at the Lycée des Mascareignes, the half-board grant is paid directly to the school restaurant’s caterer.
Exams and support
At Northfields, English as a second language support and special needs support are charged from 6,100 to 9,800 rupees a month; at Westcoast, IGCSE and IB Diploma fees are paid by the parents; at the Lycée des Mascareignes, the previous year’s baccalauréat fees were 5,000 rupees in première and 7,000 in terminale.
Grants for French children
A French child enrolled in an accredited school can obtain an AEFE school grant, subject to income and assets, if they live in Mauritius with their family and are registered, like the applying parent, in the register of French nationals living abroad. Paid to the school, it covers all or part of the fees, never extracurricular activities, and cannot be combined with the CAF family allowance.
The grant calendar
Applications are made on Scolaide or at the consulate, from January to March for the following school year; a second committee, in October and November, considers families who arrived after the deadline. When the employer contributes to the fees, see how to negotiate your expatriation package.
06 Where to live
Where to live depending on the school
Choosing the school before the home avoids signing a lease far from the school you want. Schools are grouped in four areas.
Living in Mauritius with children →| Area | Schools | Full schooling on site | Rent in our listings |
|---|---|---|---|
| NorthGrand Baie, Mapou, Pereybère | École du Nord and Northfields in Mapou, Saint Exupéry in Grand Baie, a Dukesbridge campus | French up to the end of middle school; IB or A-Levels up to 18 at Northfields | Median Rs 107,500, i.e. 2,000 to 2,100 € (12 listings, from Rs 48,000 to 195,000) |
| WestTamarin, Rivière Noire, Cascavelle | École Paul et Virginie and Telfair International Academy in Tamarin, Westcoast in Cascavelle | French up to CM2; IB Diploma at secondary level at Westcoast | Median Rs 119,500, i.e. 2,200 to 2,300 € (11 listings, from Rs 55,000 to 195,000) |
| Central plateauCurepipe, Moka, Helvetia, Floréal | Lycée La Bourdonnais, École du Centre and Lycée des Mascareignes, Le Bocage and Clavis in Moka, Alexandra House in Floréal, several Dukesbridge campuses | The whole French track, from nursery school to the baccalauréat; the whole IB track | From Rs 30,000 to 83,000 (6 listings: too few for a median) |
| EastBeau Champ | The second Clavis campus | IB at primary level | Not enough listings for a benchmark |
The West after CM2
No accredited French school there offers middle or upper secondary school: a child continuing in French moves to Mapou, Helvetia or Curepipe after CM2. Properties: real estate in Tamarin.
The North: two schools in the same village
The École du Nord and Northfields are both in Mapou, near Grand Baie. The eastern Clavis campus is in Beau Champ.
Rent before you buy
Securing the place, then renting in the area before considering a purchase, limits the risk of choosing the wrong neighbourhood: see our advice to rent in Mauritius with children and our properties for long-term rental, which can be filtered on the “near schools” criterion.
07 Returning to France
Returning to France: what accreditation changes
The curriculum followed in Mauritius decides how your child will rejoin a class in France.
The steps for the return →After an accredited school
According to the French Ministry of National Education, the pupil joins a state school or a private school under contract in France, or another accredited school abroad, without an exam, within the limit of available places.
After an international or Mauritian school
Entry into a state collège or lycée in France goes through an exam that determines the class, organised by the head of the receiving school, on the main subjects common to both curricula. See returning to France after living in Mauritius.
Once the place is secured
Our advice to help your child settle into a new school and our guide to extracurricular activities for children take over; the page moving to Mauritius covers the other steps of the arrival.
08 Related guides
Further reading
The guides that cover each aspect of schooling in Mauritius in detail.
09 Sources & methodology
Reliable, up-to-date information
The rules come from official texts, the fees from the schedules published by each school, the rents from our own listings.
- Ministry of Education and Human Resource (Mauritius): 2026 school calendar, primary education, secondary education, National Equivalence Committee and school admission form in Mauritius, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Mauritius Examinations Syndicate: 2026 PSAC, NCE and Cambridge exams, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE): accredited schools in Mauritius, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- French Embassy in Mauritius: French education in Mauritius and school grants, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- French Ministry of National Education, Éduscol: accreditation, principles and procedure and schooling of pupils returning from abroad, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- International Baccalaureate Organization: directory of IB World Schools in Mauritius, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Lycée La Bourdonnais: secondary enrolment, useful documents and fees 2026-2027, practical information and calendar 2026-2027 and bridging class, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- École du Nord: enrolment, school fees and financial regulations, fees 2026-2027 and school transport, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- École du Centre – Collège Pierre-Poivre: enrolment and school fees 2026-2027, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Lycée des Mascareignes: enrolling and financial regulations 2026-2027, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- École Paul et Virginie: enrolment procedure and fees 2026-2027, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Northfields International School: admission procedure, fee schedules 2026-2027 and calendar 2026-2027, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Westcoast International Secondary School: admissions and fees 2026 and calendar 2026, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Le Bocage International School: admissions, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Clavis International Primary School: admissions, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- Bank of Mauritius: indicative rupee exchange rates, consulted on 17 September 2026.
- 2026-2027 fee schedules checked on 28 October 2026: École du Nord, Lycée des Mascareignes, Lycée La Bourdonnais, Northfields International School (one schedule per level, expatriate rate) and Westcoast International Secondary School
- Official directory of IB World Schools in Mauritius, checked on 28 October 2026: Clavis, Le Bocage, Northfields and Westcoast
- School websites, read on 28 October 2026: Alexandra House School, Telfair International Academy, Dukesbridge, Morning Star School and Saint Exupéry International School
- Bank of Mauritius — indicative rates of 26 October 2026, between 51.84 and 53.67 rupees to the euro
- Westimmo — published long-term rental listings, 3 bedrooms or more, survey of 28 October 2026; median published from 8 listings
Figures checked on 28 October 2026. Schools review their fees every year: confirm them with the school at the time of enrolment.
10 Frequently asked questions
Your questions about schools in Mauritius
Short answers to the most frequent questions.
Frequently asked questions about schools in Mauritius
Five families: the Mauritian national system, in English at secondary level; the French curriculum, in five accredited schools; the International Baccalaureate, in four schools recognised by the IBO; the British curriculum, from the IGCSE to A-Levels; and other approaches, such as the British and Australian framework of Dukesbridge.
For 2026-2027, from 156,000 to 262,450 rupees a year in a French school, about 2,900 to 5,100 euros, up to 390,610 rupees at the Lycée des Mascareignes, and from 311,300 to 656,700 rupees at Northfields, about 5,800 to 12,700 euros, at the rate of 26 October 2026.
More, because of entry fees and deposits: about Rs 295,300 at the École du Nord in primary for a family that is neither French nor Mauritian, and Rs 461,600 at Northfields in Year 1, refundable deposits included.
Five schools accredited by France: the Lycée La Bourdonnais in Curepipe, the École du Nord in Mapou, the École du Centre and the Lycée des Mascareignes in Helvetia, the École Paul et Virginie in Tamarin. They teach more than 5,000 pupils according to the French embassy.
The IBO recognises four schools: Clavis (primary), Le Bocage, Northfields and Westcoast. Northfields also offers A-Levels after the IGCSE; Le Bocage and Westcoast prepare for the IGCSE.
On 28 August 2026 in French schools, on 20 August at Northfields; in January in Mauritian state schools and at Westcoast.
Not in the schools that say so in writing: the Lycée des Mascareignes and the École du Centre do not admit a child who entered on a tourist visa. Allow one to three months for the child’s permit.
Birth certificate or family record book, latest school reports, certificate of removal from the previous school, passports, proof of address in Mauritius, permit or visa, and depending on the school the health record and the custody ruling.
The Ministry provides an admission form with a section for children of non-Mauritian parents, reviewed by the National Equivalence Committee. The financial conditions for a foreign pupil are not specified.
Yes, but entry into a state collège or lycée then goes through an exam that sets the class. After an accredited school, the pupil is admitted without an exam.
A French child enrolled in an accredited school can obtain an AEFE grant, subject to income. The main round runs from January to March, a second one in October and November.
The central plateau is the only area where you can follow the whole French track and the whole IB track. The North brings together the École du Nord and Northfields in Mapou; the West has a French school up to CM2 and Westcoast at secondary level.






